Saving minutes, spending hours

I learned early in life the importance of compounding interest. Little did I know at the time that the same principal could be carried over into other areas of life. An example that sticks in my mind is from a chart I saw years ago where different snack foods were listed along with their prices. The prices were multiplied times 52 weeks, arriving at the amount of money that could be saved if an item were dropped from one’s shopping list for a year. I found its message persuasive and began to think of other ways I could apply the principal. A $3.50 bag of chips doesn’t move me, but $182.00 does!

Similarly, 5 minutes saved here and there hardly seems worth writing about. However, saving 5 minutes a day adds up to 35 minutes a week. Although 35 minutes stills seems unimpressive, 30.33 hours a year gets my attention. I have used “5 minutes” for my example because this small amount of time can be saved by anyone, even the most time-challenged person around. With a little thought, most of us could save a lot more time than that.

For me, time is a treasured asset. And the time I spend thinking about how to save more of it for the things I love is time well invested.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Leave a Reply

