“There comes a voice that awakes my soul, it is the voice of years

that are gone, they roll before me with their deeds.”

Author Unknown

Every January I go through the ritual of printing out my Day Timer pages for the new year. My Day Timer is regular notebook size, and I keep it on my desk next to the computer. It’s always open to the week at hand. All important dates, events, and appointments, both business and personal, are centralized in this one place. Although I keep much of the same information on the computer, I like having good old-fashioned hard copy in front of me. Not to mention, when I travel I simply pack it, knowing that my life on paper is right by my side.

Part of the ritual is removing the previous year’s pages, giving them a quick scan to see if there is any information I need to carry forward to the new year. There’s always a strange feeling that accompanies this task. I suppose it’s rooted in the fact that another year is past, never to return. Yet, the deeds of that year are neatly recorded on each page, and for a moment I relive each one in my mind. As I finish scanning December, I then place the pages in a large envelope and file them, just in case the information should be needed in the future.

Although there is an initial investment of time in putting together a Day Timer, it is well worth every minute. You will quickly see your time investment repaid with compounded interest.

Here are just a few of its many benefits:

(1) All birthdays, anniversaries, and appointments are recorded and in full view
(2) All important addresses and phone numbers are at your fingertips and in alphabetical order
(3) Quick notes, to do lists, and phone records are centralized on one place
(4) All the above information is portable
(5) Hard copy Day Timers are not susceptible to hard drive failure, worms, viruses, or Trojans (and you don’t have to back them up)

So, if you are one of those people who are always looking for that address, or that little piece of paper where you recorded a phone number, or the date of Aunt Hazel’s birthday, consider transitioning to a Day Timer and saying good-bye to frustration, senior moments, and wasted time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West

Fembellish Journal – Beauty thru fiber art

