Some people enjoy spending a lazy afternoon chatting on the telephone. I’m not one of them. First of all, I don’t have lazy afternoons, and if I did, I wouldn’t want to spend them talking the hours away.

About a year ago, one of my R & D girls (Judy) suggested that I purchase an earphone attachment so that I could take calls and work at the same time. Wow! What a great idea that turned out to be. Now, rather than sitting at my desk or walking around holding the telephone next to my ear, I wear the earphones, talk, and perform a second task at the same time.

In fact, the telephone now acts as the stimuli for a constructive case of Pavlovian conditioning. It rings, I answer with my earphones on, and I immediately start cleaning some area of the studio, the kitchen, or wherever I happen to be when I answer the phone. I find I can also work at the computer, but low brain wave tasks seem to go more smoothly.

I may have lost you back at the “R & D girls” statement. Two family members, Judy and Tracy, serve as our research and development team. They come up with new and innovative design ideas all the time, ideas that I take and draw out on paper, tinker around with, develop prototypes for, and so on.

Back to the earphones, I purchased mine at Radio Shak. They run about $39 and work great. I strongly suggest that you go high quality and get a set that covers both ears. I’ve tried other types (the kind with one ear pad), but too much background noise gets through. You will also want a set that allows you to adjust the sound level.

Many gadgets promise huge savings in time (such as computers). My little set of earphones deliver those savings every day.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

N. Rene West

Fembellish Journal – Beauty thru fiber art

